Water Carrier Error in #3045287

Water Carrier Error in #3045287

Message par MarkHab » 27 Mars 2018 20:20

Played Water Carrier after the Well had already been purchased twice. Only 1 food was issued per subsequent round.
MarkHab
Premium
Premium
 
Message(s) : 12
Inscription : 08 Sep 2014 8:38
Localisation : Ottawa

Re: Water Carrier Error in #3045287

Message par Stephen » 28 Mars 2018 1:39

This is actually what I would have expected; my impression was that you would only get double food if the Water Carrier was in play before the Well was purchased for a second time. The errata isn't clear on this, though.
Stephen
 
Message(s) : 3
Inscription : 30 Oct 2017 10:51

Re: Water Carrier Error in #3045287

Message par Le_Grand_Thierry » 02 Avr 2018 8:50

IMHO, this is not an error.

Read the text of the card : the number of wells played in the past is irrelevant.
Avatar de l’utilisateur
Le_Grand_Thierry
Premium
Premium
 
Message(s) : 3
Inscription : 15 Juil 2016 18:43

Re: Water Carrier Error in #3045287

Message par MarkHab » 02 Avr 2018 22:39

Le_Grand_Thierry a écrit :IMHO, this is not an error.

Read the text of the card : the number of wells played in the past is irrelevant.

I guess it's a difference of interpretation. While this specific situation is not listed in the card text, the two quoted points which are there in black and white seem logically consistent with issuing the food again for a previously built second well. Particularly when the author goes out of their way to say food will not be distributed for Village Well, yet makes no such point with regards to a previously built second well.

Point 1) If the well has already been built, place the food immediately. - This is fairly self explanatory. Clearly food is distributed for a previously built Well.

Point 2) is distributed again if the Well is built for a second time. - Once again clearly the food is distributed again if the Well is built for a second time.

Card text:
Once any player has built the Well, place 1 food on the remaining round spaces. At the start of these Rounds, you receive the food.

If the well has already been built, place the food immediately.
Food is not distributed a second time when the Well is upgraded to the Village Well. It is distributed again if the Well is built for a second time. If the Well has already been upgraded to the Village Well and returned to the major improvements board, the food is nevertheless distributed.
MarkHab
Premium
Premium
 
Message(s) : 12
Inscription : 08 Sep 2014 8:38
Localisation : Ottawa

Re: Water Carrier Error in #3045287

Message par JeOma » 01 Mai 2018 10:37

This is how I interpret the card text, maybe that will help:

Card text:
From now on, if any player builds the Well, place 1 food on the remaining round spaces. At the start of these Rounds, you receive the food.
If one or more players already has one or more wells in front of them, place the food immediately.
Food is not distributed a second time when the Well is upgraded to the Village Well. It is distributed again if the Well is built for a second time.
(Obsolete) If the Well has already been upgraded to the Village Well and returned to the major improvements board, the food is nevertheless distributed. (Obsolete)

And when you interpret it like this, the food will not be distributed twice when you play the watercarrier after the well has been built, upgraded, and built again.
JeOma
 
Message(s) : 3
Inscription : 06 Avr 2017 19:40
Localisation : On top of your momma


Retour vers Agricola

Qui est en ligne ?

Utilisateur(s) parcourant ce forum : Aucun utilisateur inscrit et 3 invité(s)

cron